Honey French Toast

 

 

 

 

Why is french toast called french toast? French toast was not invented in France. And it’s not called after a chef named Joseph French. But I still do not know why it’s called french toast. Oh well – I’ll just file this among my other food name questions (just beside “why is french fries called french fries?”)

IMG_3042-0

I like my french toast slightly sweet so this recipe is perfect for me. I opted for honey over sugar. Although I’ve read the arguments on sugar vs honey saying honey is still sugar, there are times that I feel honey works better for me.

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp honey (or less, depending on preference)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp low fat milk
  • 4 slices of bread
  • 1-2 tbsp butter

Directions

  1. Beat eggs. Add honey, cinnamon, vanilla and milk and stir until well combined. Soak the bread in the egg mixture.
  2. Melt butter in pan. Fry the soaked bread in the pan until golden brown. Serve with syrup if preferred.
Leave a Reply

