Haiku

I mentioned several posts back that I’ve been lazy last October. I blame my annoying migraine for that. I’ve had migraines since I was 11 or 12 but never like the episodes I have been experiencing lately. So I went to see a doctor this afternoon to get checked. All I got was new pills and an order to sleep. Oh well – I hope the pills work.

The pain today was worse than usual and I could not focus on my project for today. So I sat down in front of my laptop and thought of writing instead. I ended up studying poetry and in particular, haikus.

According to WikiHow, a haiku is a short poem that use sensory language to capture a feeling or image. Originating in Japan, a haiku is usually inspired by nature or the seasons. Because of its elegance, it became popular and has been adopted by English poets. Modern haiku is no longer limited to nature but could be about any topic. Some key points:

  • Japanese haiku consists of 17 sounds (or syllables in English), divided into three phrases. The first phrase has 5 sounds, followed by 7 and then 5 again. Modern haiku does not always follow this structure.
  • Haiku juxtaposes two ideas. In English, the ideas are separated by a dash.

I attempted to write a few haikus for the fun of it.

On Migraine:

The torture is back –

Go away, oh, go away

I/m tired of you.

On Timezone Difference:

You said good morning – 

And the stars twinkled bright

I replied good night.

On Singapore Haze:

I can’t breathe again –

My mind tells me to escape

My heart yearns for home.

I can’t say my examples are genius but this was fun! 🙂 This is my #somethingnewfordes for November 4.

 

One response to “Haiku

  1. Pingback: Something New Challenge (Index) | Oopsie Dessie·

Leave a Reply

