Cereal Prawn

Mmmmm….sweet aroma and crunchy goodness – it was definitely love at first bite for me and Cereal Prawn. That’s why I couldn’t wait to try this recipe at home. Here’s my version of this favorite local Singaporean dish.

Blooper moment: It was the first time I used actual red chilis in a dish. I diced the chilies using bare hands and it resulted to my left hand getting capsicum burn.  I felt like I grew a special power where heat wave will come out of my hand. Hahaha! After googling, I found out that using water will only spread the affected area since capsaicin (the chemical in peppers) is oil/fat-soluble. Wish I knew that sooner. Anyway, I tried lemon juice, toothpaste, over the counter burn aid, petroleum jelly, baking soda and milk. The winner for me was milk but I spent like 6 hours with my hand dipped in cold milk (changed regularly). Some suggested Maalox but I did not have that readily at home. I was able to finally sleep at 3am and the pain was gone by the time I woke up. Now I know that I should wear gloves when handling peppers!

Yummy Cereal Prawn – a local Singaporean favorite

Cereal Sotong (Squid) – a variation using squid rings

Ingredients:

  • 500 g prawn (or you can use squid as alternative)
  • 
1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 
2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 
2 tbsp corn flour
  • 
2 tbsp margarine, or butter
  • 
2 salted egg yolks
  • 
2-3 red chilies, sliced thinly, diagonally
  • 
50 g curry leaves (see note for alternative)
  • 
1 tbsp white sugar
  • 
50 g Nestum cereal original

 

Directions:

  1. Remove heads, skin and devein prawns, leaving the tail intact. In a bowl, season prawns with salt and pepper and marinate for 30 minutes.
  2. Add lightly whisked egg into bowl. Dust with sifted flour and corn flour.
  3. Heat cooking oil in a wok. Deep fry prawns in hot oil for 3-4 minutes until golden. Drain on paper towel and set aside for later use.
  4. Melt butter in a wok. Add mashed salted yolks into hot butter. Stir fry for a couple of seconds to cook the yolks.
  5. Add curry leaves and saute until fragrant. Add sliced chilies and sugar and mix.
  6. Add Nestum cereal and stir fry for 2 minutes until the cereal changes color and becomes crunchy. Make sure not to burn the cereals.
  7. Toss in the fried prawns and mix well. Remove from heat and serve.

Preparation Time: 35 minutes

Cooking Time: 10 minutes

Note: The use of curry leaves is essential to get the authentic taste and smell of this dish. However, if you really cannot find any leaves, an option is to use basil leaves (same amount as curry leaves in ingredient) with a dash of lemon.

Curry leaves are not related to curry powder!

Leave a Reply

