I Jumped!!!

YES, I JUMPED FROM THE TOP OF A TOWER, 233 METERS FROM THE GROUND…

and it was AWESOME!!! The Macau Tower Bungy Jump designed by AJ Hackett, which is currently the World’s Highest at 233 meters, (764 feet) is by far my most unforgettable memory of Macau. It took a lot of will power for me to this – and what finally convinced is a picture of Anthony Bourdain with his certificate! J

The entire process took around 15 minutes for me. After I signed up at the tower’s entrance level, I took the lift to the top of Macau Tower catching a glimpse of the breathtaking view. Once on the jump deck area, I showed my receipt and received a boarding pass and a shirt. I put on the shirt, got buckled up, got my weight taken and waited in line for a few minutes. The crew called me and started strapping me with the harness, all the while making me laugh to remove my nervousness. It was only then that I realized I was committed to this and there’s no turning back. I’m really jumping from the top of the tower!!! After all security checks were done, I was asked to walk (baby steps) to a metal plank (very scary!) and countdown started as soon as I was at the edge. Then poof – I was released, falling and screaming to the top of my lungs!!! The free fall took like 5 seconds for me, plus 2 minutes to get down. It was an exciting, exhilarating pure adrenaline rush experience. Will I do it again? Definitely YES!!!

Aside from Bungy Jumping, you can go for SkyWalk, SkyJump and Mast Climb.

  • Skywalk allows you to take a “stroll” around the outer perimeter of the Macau Tower. It’s open air – and there’s no handrail!
  • SkyJump is likened to the technology used by stunt men in movies (like James Bond) where you are given a feeling of flying and landing down on both feet.
  • Mast Climb gives you the opportunity to climb 100 meters up using vertical ladders and reach the 338-meter peak of Macau Tower. Once on top, you can strike a pose and have your picture taken (imagine King Kong). This is currently under maintenance until end of 2012.

For more details about these adventures, check the AJ Hackett Macau Tower website.

Soaring 338 meters high, the Macau Tower Convention & Entertainment Centre, commonly called Macau Tower, is the 10th tallest freestanding tower in the world. This officially opened on December 19, 2001 and is a member of the World’s Federation of Great Towers. It offers visitors an amazing view of the Macanese skyline from its observation deck 223 meters above the ground. Aside from being used for communication and broadcasting, it provides an array of entertainment, dining and shopping facilities. The tower has appeared in Amazing Race, Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations and America’s Next Top Model Cycle 18: British Invasion.

Leave a Reply

